A pivot from an in-person event to a virtual one didn’t prevent the 79th Annual Minnesota Farmers Union (MFU) Convention from sparking fruitful conversation on agriculture and rural policy. 

The November 21 event, held via Zoom, allowed MFU members from across the state to participate safely in the grassroots organization’s cornerstone meeting. 

The abbreviated agenda consisted of guest speakers, rules and bylaws change discussion, re-affirmation of MFU’s current policy document, debate and passage of seven Special Orders of Business and election of delegates to the next National Farmers Union (NFU) Convention. 

The organization also formally recognized outgoing Congressman Collin Peterson and State Rep. Jeanne Poppe with the Leadership in Agriculture Award by a unanimous vote of the delegates. 

The Special Orders of Business passed by MFU members are as follows: Affordable Health Care; Resilient Agricultural Markets; Expanding Meat and Poultry Processing; Promoting Biofuels and Ending Attacks on the RFS; Pandemic Recovery and Broadband Investment; Climate-Smart Agriculture; and Affirming Agricultural Community. 

Several guest speakers addressed the convention attendees in live Zoom appearances, including Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz; U.S. Senators from Minnesota Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith, members of the Senate Agriculture Committee; Congresswoman Angie Craig from Minnesota’s 2nd District, a member of the House Agriculture Committee; NFU President Rob Larew and Vice President Patty Edelburg; and Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Thom Petersen. 

MFU thanks them for their time and support.