The Albert H. and Jennie C. Sperry House, a 126 year old Willmar-area home that has been turned into museum displaying turn-of-the-century home life in Kandiyohi County,  is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, a listing of districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects considered worthy of preservation.
The Sperry House was built in 1893 on Albert H. and Jennie Sperry’s farm. A.H. Sperry, born in 1840, lived in the house until his death in 1917. He was a pioneer settler, soldier during and after the Dakota War of 1862, farmer, and businessman. Jennie Wilson Sperry, teacher and housewife, lived here into the 1920s and in other Willmar residences until her death, at age 92 in 1953.  The Historical Society has maintained the house since 1970, after the death of Bryan, the Sperry’s youngest son who resided here. The downstairs rooms were partially restored and opened to the public in 1976.  The Kandiyohi County Historical Society is excited about this designation of the 126 years old house.  It is a true testament to the early settlers of Kandiyohi County and to the history of the City of Willmar.  
For more information, contact Jill at 320-235-1881 or