The Walz administration could add six more Minnesota counties to the dozen for which they’ve already requested a federal ag disaster declaration, prompted by a very poor fall harvest due to bad weather.

State Agriculture Commissioner Thom Petersen says they’re “considering adding Traverse, Stevens and Grant to the 12 counties that we already had. And then we are looking at some counties in south-central Minnesota — be like Renville, Redwood, Kandiyohi, again for sugarbeet production.”

Petersen says they’re expecting a decision from U-S-D-A by mid-December. North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum also requested a federal ag disaster declaration.

(Learfield News Service)