Image Courtesy Red Rock Central School District

The Minnesota Department of Transportation announced Tuesday that Red Rock Central district will receive a $16,600 Safe Routes to School grant.

Red Rock Central School District is located in Redwood and Cottonwood Counties, with about 400 students in grades K-12 from Lamberton, Sanborn, Storden, Jeffers and the surrounding area.

Safe Routes to School is an international program to improve safety and reduce traffic congestion around schools. It does this by making it safer and easier for students to walk and bicycle to school, with an added benefit of increasing physical activity and student health.

A total of 19 school districts, cities, counties, or community organizations across the state will benefit from $705,000 in programming grants that support the Safe Routes to School program.

Since 2005, MnDOT has awarded more than $60 million in federal and state funds to communities to support Safe Routes to School. Most of the funding was awarded for infrastructure projects. The remainder was allocated for programs and planning that promote walkable and bikeable communities.