Image courtesy Federal Department of Transportation

Redwood and Renville Counties have each received over a million and a half dollars from the state in the first round of federal CARES act funding authorized for distribution by Governor Tim Walz in late June.

On Thursday, the state of Minnesota announced it has distributed nearly $600 million to date in aid to local governments impacted by COVID-19.

The Minnesota Department of Revenue received and approved certifications for 64 counties, and 196 cities and townships by June 29. The total distributed was slightly over $596 million as of July 9.

KLGR-area counties that have received CARES funding, as of Tuesday, July 7:

Blue Earth: $8,230,380
Brown County: $3,083,468
Kandiyohi County: $5,235,792
La Qui Parle County: $909,112
Lyon County: $3,166,587
Redwood County: $1,972,047
Renville County: $1,851,578
Watonwan County: $1,368,465
Yellow Medicine County: $1,273,324

KLGR-area communities that have received CARES funding, as of Tuesday, July 7:

City of Belview: $27,273
City of Gaylord: $171,926
City of Luvurne: $355,983
City of Marshall: $1,038,415
City of Morgan: $65,094
City of Olivia: $183,755
City of Springfield: $154,523
City of Wabasso: $52,211.
City of Windom: $341,969
City of Winthrop: $106,380

The funding for counties, cities, and towns can be used to support local government services as well as grants to businesses, hospitals, and individuals who have been impacted by COVID-19. Any remaining unspent funding must be returned to the state by December 10.