Senate Republicans announced their committee assignments this week, following the same announcement by Senate Democrats. 

For the Senate Agriculture Committee, new members include Alabama’s Tommy Tuberville and Roger Marshall of Kansas. 

The pair take seats previously occupied by retired chairman Pat Roberts of Kansas and Kelly Loeffler of Georgia. 

Marshall was expected to join the agriculture committee, previously serving on the House Agriculture Committee before being elected to the Senate. 

Marshall was also assigned to the Senate Committee on Health, Education and Labor, the Small Business Committee and the Energy and Natural Resources Committee. 

Marshall states, “As a fifth-generation farm kid, someone who has spent many years leading businesses in a variety of fields, and as a physician, I look forward to adding the Kansas perspective to each of these committees.” 

For the 117th Congress, committees will have an equal number of Republicans and Democrats on each committee due to the 50-50 Senate composition.

(Story Courtesy of the NAFB News Service)