No travel advised in several southwest MN counties

WILLMAR, Minn. — (5:45 a.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation is advising no travel on southwest Minnesota state highways in the following listed areas. Roads are completely snow and ice covered. Blowing snow and reduced visibility are creating hazardous driving conditions.

Western and southern portions of Chippewa County
Kandiyohi County – east and south of Blomkest
Lac qui Parle County
Lincoln County
Lyon County
Meeker County – Hwy 4, south of Cosmos
Meeker County – Hwy 7
Meeker County – Hwy 15, south of Dassel
McLeod County
Murray County
Pipestone County
Redwood County
Renville County
Yellow Medicine County
No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of intermittent white out conditions; and, some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments, such as salt or sand, are not effective.

Motorists are advised not to travel in these areas until conditions improve.

The public can view winter road conditions from plow cameras available through the www.511mn.orgwebsite. Please note that not all plows have cameras. Road conditions on major highways can also be viewed through the Road Weather Information System (RWIS), which is also part of 511.

Share this article

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus