Seven SW MN Counties Eligible For Federal Disaster Aid

Excessive rains and flash flooding prompted the U.S. Department of Agriculture to declare seven southwestern Minnesota counties a disaster, rendering them eligible for aid.

The flooding that hit the region from mid-June through early July led to USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue to declare Murray County a primary disaster area.  The counties of Cottonwood, Lyon, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, and Rock have been named contiguous disaster counties.

The designation makes farmers in those seven counties eligible for emergency loans from the federal Farm Service Agency (FSA).

Minnesota farmers in the eligible counties have eight months from the date of the secretary’s disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.


Share this article

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus