Hundreds of drivers across the state, including some in south central Minnesota, have had to pony up $500 over the last few months for violating the school bus stop arm law.
State law requires all vehicles to stop for school buses when the flashing red lights have been activated and the crossing arm fully extended. Since August 1st, 458 drivers across Minnesota have been cited for not doing so.
Over the last school year in Blue Earth County, more than two-dozen drivers were cited for violating the school bus stop arm law. The fine then was $300, but it has since been increased to $500.
(Copyright © 2017 Southern Minnesota News – Alpha Media Mankato. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)
Story from SouthernMinnesotaNews.com