MnDOT advising no travel in parts of southwest Minnesota

WILLMAR, Minn.— The Minnesota Department of Transportation has issued a no travel advisory for parts of southwest Minnesota.

The no travel advisory applies to the following areas:
·         Yellow Medicine County
·         Kandiyohi County
·         Meeker County
·         Lac qui Parle County
·         Lincoln County
·         Chippewa County
·         Pipestone County
·        Murray County
Check  for specific roads covered by the no travel advisory
Visibility has been reduced to zero.  White out conditions are present and roads are completely covered with blowing snow.  Crews are out working hard to improve road conditions.  If you must travel, MnDOT advises motorists to slow down, use their headlights and give plows room to work.

Other areas of southwest Minnesota not named above are experiencing poor visibility, high winds, snow, slush and slippery roads as well.

Remember to:
Check road conditions at or call 511; it takes time to get roads back to good driving conditions.
Be patient and remember snowplows are working to improve road conditions for your trip.
Stay back at least five car lengths behind the plow, far from the snow cloud.
Stay alert for snowplows that turn or exit frequently and often with little warning. They may also travel over centerlines or partially in traffic to further improve road conditions.
Slow down and use your head lights.   Snowplows typically move at slower speeds.

For updated information on road conditions, visit or call 511.

Share this article

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus